How to enter

Let your book bloom

terms and conditions

German Gardenbook Award

Since 2006 Schloss Dennenlohe awarded the "German Garden Book Prize" presented by Stihl and sponsored by Dehner - as a premium Award for the German book market. Since 2010 follows the "European Garden Book Award“ created and presented by Schloss Dennenlohe for the European Market.

The award will be presented every year in March, 2020 on the 13th of March as part of an exclusive soiree at Castle Dennenlohe.

Please send us your books in four copies for the EGBA till 3 rd March 2020

The members of the judgement select in two categories "Best European Photo Book“ and „Best European Garden Book“. The judges reserves the right to assign books to a different category if it seemed necessary. 

Please remember that all books must be edited in the recent year or the year before - also for the Award in 2020 - the book must be published in 2019 or 2020. Second editions of an older work are permitted but only if they have not yet been awarded. There are no entry fees for the EGBA competition, but if your book is nominated and win a price, there will be an invoice for ads ( 200,- Euro for the third price, 300,- Euro for the second price and 400,- Euro for the first price. Although we do need 10 books for the press work from the first winner.)

Please send the copies to the following address:

Schloss Dennenlohe

Genia Lindörfer

Dennenlohe 1

D - 91743 Unterschwaningen

terms and conditions

European Gardenbook Award

For the "European Garden Book Award", the premium prize for the best European garden book, which is chosen by a European jury, German publishers can also submit books that they print under license or books written by European authors. The Award is given in two categories: Garden Photo Book and Garden Book. For participate please send three copies of the books to Dennenlohe Castle.

British writer wins first prize in the European Garden Book Awards 2019

On 15th March 2019, the 13th annual European Garden Book Awards took place at Castle Dennenlohe (the largest Rhododendron Park in southern Germany).

The awards are organised by Castle Dennenlohe and sponsored by Stihl and Dehner gardencenter. This year, publishers submitted over 100 books to be considered by the judges.


Winner of the coverted ‘European Garden Book Award’ title and the prestigious first place award for the best European garden book, went to Kenneth Cox for his work ‘Woodland Gardening’ published by Glendoick.

Second place was awarded to Anette Freytag, Verena Best-Mast, et al, for ‘Les Jardins de la Gara’ (‘The Gardens of La Gara’), published by Scheidegger & Spiess.

Third place was awarded to Helen and William Bynum and their book ‘Das Wesen der Pflanze’, published by Haupt Verlag in Germany. The book is also available in English as ‘Botanical Sketchbooks’.

The following authors received the three STIHL special awards for outstanding achievements in garden literature this year: Claudio Niggli and Martin Frei with ‘Stachelbeeren’ (‘Gooseberries’), published by Haupt Verlag, won the 5,000-euro prize, Ute Studer with ‘Tomatenlust’ (‘Feeling like Tomatoes’), published by Haupt Verlag, won the 3,000-euro prize, and Frank and Katrin Hecker with ‘Heilsame Wildpflanzen’ (‘Healing Wild Plants’), published by Haupt Verlag, won the 2,000-euro prize.


Kenneth Cox said:

“I’m absolutely delighted to win this award, a great accolade for a book which took two years to write but a lifetime to accumulate the information for. My grandfather Euan Cox started the woodland gardens at Glendoick 100 years ago, when he returned from Burma where he was plant hunting with Reginald Farrer.

He wrote about woodland gardening extensively in books and magazines through the 1920s and 1930s and it is very satisfying to be able to survey this much-loved style of gardening which has received remarkably little coverage in books. Designing and restoring woodland gardens takes me all over the world and has been an opportunity to meet some of the world’s finest gardeners and to share their experiences. This book is also an advertisement for the possibilities of self-publishing, using the editorial and design team that I work with on mainstream publishing works. The first print run ran out in under 6 months and the reception for the book has been exceptional.”




The European Garden Book Awards

The European Garden Book Awards have been honouring the best European gardening books for 13 years and are organised and hosted by Castle Dennenlohe in Bavaria, Germany.

Castle Dennenlohe

Built in 1734, Castle Dennenlohe is considered to be one of the most beautiful baroque castles in Bavaria. The castle is surrounded by the largest Rhododendron park in southern Germany and possesses 26 hectares of landscaped and botanical gardens.

Castle Dennenlohe also sponsors the European Garden Photography award in partnership with the International Garden Photographer of the Year.

terms and conditions

European Garden Photo Award

In addition, every year, the European Garden Photo Award will be presented since 2013 together with the English institution "International Garden Photographer of the Year" in order to promote garden photography. Closing date is always October 31st. For more information for your photographers, visit the Schlosspark Dennenlohe European Garden Award - (Special Awards).


Freiherrliche von Süsskind´sche
Schloss und Gartenverwaltung
Dennenlohe 1
91743 Unterschwaningen

Tel: +49 (0) 9836-96888
Fax: +49 (0) 9836-96889

Über den Veranstalter

Schloss Dennenlohe wurde 1734 mit allen seinen Nebengebäuden erbaut und gilt als eines der schönsten Barockensembles in Bayern. Das Schloss wird vom größten Rhododendronpark Süddeutschlands sowie von einem 25 Hektar großen Landschaftsgarten umgeben.